The current official name, Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh, abbreviated Tp. HCM, is translated as Ho Chi Minh City, abbreviated HCMC, and in French as Hô-Chi-Minh-Ville (the circumflex is sometimes omitted), abbreviated HCMV. The name commemorates Hồ Chí Minh, the first leader of Vietnam. This name, though not his given name, was one he favoured throughout his later years. It combines a common Vietnamese surname (Hồ) with a given name meaning “enlightened will” (from Sino-Vietnamese; Chí meaning ‘will’ (or spirit), and Minh meaning ‘light’), in essence, meaning “bringer of light”.

Ho Chi Minh City is located in the south-eastern region of Vietnam, 1,760 km (1,090 mi) south of Hanoi. The average elevation is 19 metres (62 ft) above sea level. It borders Tây Ninh Province and Bình Dương Province to the north, Đồng Nai Province and Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu Province to the east, Long An Province to the west and the South China Sea to the south with a coast 15 km (9 mi) long. The city covers an area of 2,095 km2 (809 sq mi or 0.63% of the surface of Vietnam), extending up to Củ Chi District (12 mi or 19 km from the Cambodian border) and down to Cần Giờ on the South China Sea. The distance from the northernmost point (Phú Mỹ Hưng Commune, Củ Chi District) to the southernmost one (Long Hòa Commune, Cần Giờ District) is 102 km (63 mi), and from the easternmost point (Long Bình ward, District Nine) to the westernmost one (Bình Chánh Commune, Bình Chánh District) is 47 km (29 mi).

Ho Chi Minh City is a municipality at the same level as Vietnam’s provinces, which is subdivided into 24 district-level sub-divisions (as of 2003): 5 rural districts (1,601 km2 or 618 sq mi in area), which are designated as rural (huyện): Củ Chi, Hóc Môn, Bình Chánh, Nhà Bè, Cần Giờ, 19 urban districts (494 km2 or 191 sq mi in area), which are designated urban or suburban (quận): District 1, District 2, District 3, District 4, District 5, District 6, District 7, District 8, District 9, District 10, District 11, District 12, Gò Vấp, Tân Bình, Tân Phú, Bình Thạnh, Phú Nhuận, Thủ Đức, Bình Tân. They are further subdivided into 5 commune-level towns (or townlets), 58 communes, and 259 wards.

Things To Do In Ho Chi Minh

1) War Remnants Museum
Address: 28 Võ Văn Tần, 6, 3, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 7:30 AM – 12:00 noon & 1:30 PM – 5:00 PM

2) Cu Chi Tunnels
Address: Đường tỉnh lộ 15, Phú Hiệp, Phú Mỹ Hưng, Củ Chi, Hồ Chí Minh 733814
Opening Hours: 7AM–5PM

3) Suoi Tien Theme Park
Address: 120 AH1, Tân Phú, Quận 9, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM

4) The Independence Palace.
Address: 135 Nam Kỳ Khởi Nghĩa, Bến Thành, Quận 1, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 7:30 AM – 5:00 PM

5) Saigon Central Post Office.
Address: 2 Công xã Paris, Bến Nghé, tp. Hồ Chí Minh, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 8:00 AM – 5:30 PM

6) Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica of Saigon.
Address: Bến Nghé, tp. Hồ Chí Minh, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

7) Ben Thanh Market.
Address: 32-30, 36-34-32-30 Phan Bội Châu, Bến Thành, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam
Opening Hours: 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM & 7:00 PM – 12.30 AM (night market)

8) Saigon Opera House
Address: 7 Lam Son Square, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

9) Can Gio Mangrove Forest. Green lungs of Saigon.
Eco-adventure mangrove forests of the Can Gio UNESCO Biosphere Reserve located 40 kilometres outside of Ho Chi Minh City. Monkeys, gibbons, crocodiles and tropical forest life, palms and fresh air.

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search